Skip to content

Washington County Plays Key Role in New 24th Judicial Circuit

By Travis Volz
A bill approved by the state in 2021 changed the composition of local judicial circuits, as Washington County is now part of the newly created 24th Judicial Circuit.
The change went into effect in December, with St. Clair County becoming its own circuit (20th) and Washington County joining Perry, Monroe, and Randolph County. Prior to the redistricting, the 20th Judicial Circuit was composed of those five counties.
The amendment creating the new judicial circuit was part of a bill that passed in 2021, and Washington County Circuit Judge Dan Emge is determined to make the court system work for the citizens of the affected counties.

Read more in this week’s issue.

Leave a Comment