Skip to content

Okawville Wins Conference Meet; Schliefer Breaks Record

By Coach Val Tepe

The Okawville High School cross country teams traveled to Bryan Memorial Park in Salem on Saturday to run the Cahokia Conference meet. The Cahokia Conference consists of three divisions: Kaskaskia (small), Illinois (medium) and Mississippi (large). All three divisions ran together for the conference meet. 

The Lady Rockets fought hard and placed first overall for the second straight year. A difference of just one point separated them from the second place Sparta team. 

Caroline Tepe had the top time and broke her own record by placing first with a time of 17:50. Following Caroline were Lydia Luechtefeld (20:07 – 3rd place), Lauren Haacke (21:11 – 6th place), Sarah Cook (21:55 – 10th place) and Sidney Charles (22:26 – 12th place). 

Also competing were Nora Wood (22:35) and Hannah Miller (27:10).

The Rockets won their first Cahokia Conference Illinois Division championship with a new school record. Grant Schleifer broke Jacob Schwankhaus’s record time with a first place and a new school record time of 15:48. 

Following Grant were Ryker Obermeier (17:29 – 3rd place), Zander Hasheider (17:31 – 4th place), Nolan Frantz (17:38 – 6th place), and Joe Jansen (17:42 – 9th place). 

Also competing were Oliver Gaubatz (19:07) and Jared Juenger (19:49).

Leave a Comment