Skip to content

Former Rockets Gather at Rocket Lettermen Banquet

More than 50 former basketball coaches and players gathered Saturday for the first ever Rocket Lettermen Banquet at Roland Barkau Memorial Golf Course.

Players and coaches from past teams spoke, and organizers selected 16 of the most celebrated Okawville teams to face-off in a tournament bracket. Teams advanced by vote of those in attendance.  

The results of the vote had the 1970 team facing the 2000 team in the finals, with the 1970 team winning the vote.

Coaches on hand for the event were Dave Luechtefeld, Mike Smith, Jon Kraus, and Ryan Heck.

Three of the past teams also had representatives address the gathering, telling stories and reliving old memories.

Speakers from the 1970 team were Hadley Hasheider, Gary Streuter, Bruce Schneider, Bruce Heckert, and Bruce Barkau.

Mike Blumhorst, Gary Moeller, Eric Brammeier, and Alan Lake spoke for the 1980 team, while the 1987 team was represented by Keith Riechmann and Kevin Rennegarbe.

Organizer Mike Blumhorst hopes to make this a regular event.

Leave a Comment