Skip to content

Local Results from Last Week’s Consolidated Election

Polls were open last Tuesday for the April 6 Consolidated Election in Washington County. Though most races on the ballot were not competitive, a few elected positions were contested.

Johannisburg Township Elections

Johannisburg Township had multiple candidates for highway commissioner and township board of trustees.

Keith Bergmann was elected Johannisburg Township Highway Commissioner over Kyle Borrenpohl. Bergmann garnered 59.17 percent of the vote (71 total).

Robert Lohman did not seek reelection.

Five candidates were on the ballot for four seats on the Johannisburg Township Board of Trustees. Kurt Heckert (88 votes), Steve Lintker (87), Mark Schneider (85), Robert Going (68), were the four trustees elected, with Steven Droege (67) falling just short of the fourth spot by a single vote.

Covington Township Contested Races

Covington Township also had contested races for both highway commissioner and township trustee positions.

Chuck Funke was reelected Covington Township Highway Commissioner with 59.03 percent of the vote (85 total), topping Robert Schneider’s total of 59 votes.

In the race for seats on the  Covington Township Board of Trustees, six candidates vied for the four open spots.

Keith Schuette was the leading vote getter with 107. Elijah Liske (83), Gerard Restoff (77) and Jeff Hoffman (70) were also elected to the board. Bradley Maschhoff (67) and Leonard Liske (40) came up short.

Village Elections

Candice Cross was reelected as New Minden’s village president, garnering 33 votes compared with challenger Arthur Henson’s 11.

Oakdale voters reelected Cecil Alfeldt to be village president with 40 votes. Sam Pruitt had 20 votes in his challenge to Alfeldt.

Incumbent Gera Sims was defeated by Alan Hoh in the election for Irvington Village President. Hoh received 54.55 percent of the vote (102 total) to Sims’ total of 85.

Hummert Elected Highway Commissioner

Two St. Libory men were in a race for Fayetteville Township Highway Commissioner in St. Clair County, and Mitchell Hummert won the spot with 167 votes (57 percent). Keith Buescher finished with 122 votes (41 percent).

Turner Elected to West Washington CUSD Board

Brett Roe’s decision not to run for re-election left a vacant seat on the West Washington County Unit School District Board, and Kristen Turner was elected to the seat with 276 votes.

Re-elected to the board were Neal Hackstadt (302 votes), Kurt Heckert (301), and W. Daryl Frederking (280).

New Members on Nashville District 99 Board

Nashville Community High School District 99 will have two new board members because Sharon Ogrzewalla and Kim Morris did not seek re-election.

Shawn Cook (544 votes) and Randy Schwartzkopf (544 votes) were re-elected to the board, and Heather Maschhoff (187 votes) and Zachary Kabat (84 votes) were elected to the two open seats in a write-in campaign. Another write-in candidate, Matt Gajewski fell short of election with 30 votes.

These four will compose the board, along with Kevin Rench, Paul Barczewski and Tom Speedie, who were elected in 2019.

Leave a Comment