Skip to content

Host of Local Coaches to be Honored by IBCA

Seven coaches from Washington County will be honored at the IBCA Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, May 4, at Redbird Arena on the campus of Illinois State University.

Topping the list are Okawville Rockets coach Jon Kraus and Nashville Hornets coach Wayne Harre.

Nashville Hornettes coach Doug Althoff, who graduated from Okawville High School, will also be honored.

Three local junior high coaches also earned the IBCA laurels in Aaron Tebbe, Joe Kirby and Tierney Moore.

In addition to the current coaches being honored, retired coach Brad Weathers is being honored with the Rich and Ron Herrins’ Award. Weathers coached at Carlyle before manning the bench for Nashville for eight years.

Also being honored are Kaskaskia College Blue Devils coach Brian Hancock as NJCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year.

Read the full details on their accomplishments in this week’s issue.

Leave a Comment