Skip to content

Voters Decide in Election Last Week

The Okawville Village Board and the West Washington County Unit District School Board will both have new looks after last week’s election.

Cathy Cook was elected to one of the spots on the school board, and Jeannie Millikin will join the Okawville Village Board of Trustees.

Cook was elected to the board with 282 votes, edging out Ryan Welch by 48 votes for the open seat created by Ron Recker’s decision not to run again. Incumbents Paul Jansen (395 votes) and Dennis Lintker (389 votes) were also re-elected, and Brett Roe was re-elected to fill an unexpired two-year term.

Voters had to write in names for the candidates for the Okawville Village Board, and when the final votes were tallied, Milliken was elected to fill an unexpired two-year term with 81 votes. Ronda Pryor chose not to seek re-election.

Incumbents Drew Hesker (117 votes), Scott Cragen (104 votes) and Brian Nelson (69 votes) were re-elected to full four-year terms.

Several villages in the area had contested races for trustee positions, including Oakdale. Four candidates were running for three open seats. Cindy Harre (35 votes), Sherrie Kroener (34 votes) and Melissa Turner ( 33 votes) were elected to the board. Mary Boling received 14 votes.

In Hoyleton, Kristine Schnitker and Adam Brammeier were elected to the village board of trustees with 41 votes apiece, and incumbent Frank Tomasek won the third seat with 31 votes. Tom Hassel was the odd man out with 23 votes.

The board of trustees in the village of DuBois will be comprised of Mark Klaybor (27 votes), Raymond Klaybor (26 votes and Jeannette Bochantin (25 votes). A fourth candidate, Nicholas Ketterhagen, will be appointed to serve an unexpired two-year term and will be up for election again in 2021.

Leave a Comment